Вы и PR-агентство - с чего начать?

You and PR agency: getting off the ground

You apply to a PR agency in Russia for the first time and want to know what information you need to provide them before starting cooperation? Then read this article - we'll tell you first things first.

First, tell the agency which brand you are planning to promote (name) and the business area where it operates. If you have a website, perfect. Send the link to the PR people, they themselves will find a lot of useful information there.

After that, it is worth describing in detail your product or service. Tell them how you position it, what place it should take in the mind of the consumer, how your product or service differs from offers of the competitors. List your main competitive advantages. 

On the basis of this information, the agency will be able to generate key messages, which will be subsequently communicated into the information field (you should not hide any weaknesses, you trust the agency with the brand's reputation, which means it should know everything about it!)

It is crucial to communicate at what stage of the life cycle your product is. It is worth reminding that this can be:

  • Market launch
  • Market growth
  • Maturity
  •  Saturation
  • • Recession

Another crucial block of information is your target audience. Describe in detail for whom you are producing your product: gender, age, interests, geography, income, etc.

Tell us which price segment your products relate to (economy, medium, premium or luxury). It is important to know it to fill information products about the brand with the right messages.

If you've already taken some steps to promote your brand on your own or outsourcing it to contractors, tell the agency about it. Who did you deal with, what goals did you set, what results did you achieve? This can be called the starting point, from which your new PR partner will move on.

List your major competitors. You can present it in the form of a list or cards with key information. Describe how you disassociate yourself from them. If you follow the PR activity of competitors, share your observations. What you like - don't like about their promotion activities.

Provide all of the above information in writing ideally by filling out a briefthat you can request from the agency. The document should be discussed with your contractor to avoid misunderstandings. 

Sure, all this work will take you some time and it will need some effort. But setting a task for a PR agency is the most important stage in the work on promoting your brand, and it simply cannot be disregarded. 

Subsequently, it will pay off by mutual understanding with a PR contractor and, what is most important, by achieving your goals.

Marina Kochemasova
CEO PR Formula
PR for foreign brands in Russia

Вы и PR-агентство - с чего начать?

Вы и PR-агентство - с чего начать?

Вы впервые обращаетесь в PR-агентство в России и хотите знать, какую информацию нужно ему предоставить перед началом сотрудничества? Тогда читайте эту статью – расскажем обо всем по порядку.

В первую очередь, сообщите агентству, какой именно бренд вы планируете продвигать (название) и в какой сфере бизнеса он работает. Если у вас есть сайт – прекрасно. Присылайте пиарщикам ссылку, там они сами найдут много полезного.

Затем стоит подробно описать ваш товар или услугу. Расскажите, как вы их позиционируете, какое место они должны занимать в сознании потребителя, чем ваш товар или услуга отличаются от того, что предлагают конкуренты. Перечислите ваши основные конкурентные преимущества. 

На базе этой информации агентство сможет сформировать ключевые сообщения, которые в дальнейшем будет транслировать в информационное поле (слабые стороны тоже не нужно скрывать, вы доверяете агентству репутацию бренда, а значит оно должно знать о нем всё!)

Важно сообщить, на какой стадии жизненного цикла находится ваш продукт. Напомним, что это может быть:

  • Вывод на рынок
  • Рост рынка
  • Зрелость
  •  Насыщение
  • Спад

Еще один принципиально важный блок информации – это ваша целевая аудитория. Опишите подробно, для кого вы делаете свой продукт: пол, возраст, интересы, география, доходы и т.д.

Сообщите, к какому ценовому сегменту относится ваша продукция (эконом, средний, премиум или люкс). Его важно знать, чтобы наполнить информационные продукты о бренде правильными посылами.

Если вы уже предпринимали те или иные шаги по продвижению вашего бренда своими силами или с помощью подрядчиков, расскажите агентству об этом. С кем работали, какие цели ставили, каких результатов добились? Это можно назвать точкой старта, от которого ваш новый PR-партнер будет двигаться дальше.

Перечислите ваших основных конкурентов. Списком или карточками с ключевой информацией. Опишите, как вы от них отстраиваетесь. Если вы следите за PR-активностью конкурентов, поделитесь наблюдениями. Что нравится – не нравится в их работе по продвижению.

Предоставить всю вышеперечисленную информацию лучше в письменном виде, заполнив бриф, который можно запросить у агентства. Документ обязательно нужно обсудить с вашим подрядчиком, чтобы избежать недопониманий. 

Конечно, вся эта работа займет у вас какое-то время и потребует некоторых усилий. Но постановка задачи PR-агентству — важнейший этап в работе над продвижением вашего бренда, и им просто нельзя пренебрегать. 

Впоследствии это окупится взаимопониманием с PR-подрядчиком и главное – достижением поставленных вами целей.

Марина Кочемасова,
CEO PR Formula
продвижение иностранных брендов в России