Другой разговор! Как подготовиться к интервью в СМИ

There you go! How to prepare for a media interview

Your PR agency has arranged an interview with a major media resource. How to prepare for it so that communication with a reporter will be pleasant and effective, and the publication will not disappoint you?

Collection of information

It is important to examine in advance any information about a reporter: what topics he covers, what format he works in. This will help not only get on the right side of the interlocutor by starting the conversation with mentioning articles by this author that you have read, but also get an idea of what awaits you during the interview.

Key messages

Decide with your PR manager what key messages have to be got across to people. The interview will be read by an audience of a media resource, and you must clearly understand what colours you want to show and what impression to leave. You can solve several business issues in one interview if you are able to convey necessary information in a proper manner. For example, if your company is actively recruiting, be sure to mention good working conditions, incentive programs, and employee benefits. If you are looking for new partners, do mention efficiency of business processes, the results obtained and successful cooperation with other companies.

Facts and figures

This is what interests your interlocutor first. How many employees do you have? How many branches have you opened so far? What was the pure profit for the last year? Be prepared to disclose some information. It is better to prepare in advance and provide a reporter with a fact sheet with important figures and facts about the company.

Actual agenda

When commenting on a question posed, be able to refer to the current business agenda and economic situation in the country and in the world. In this way, you will enhance the insight of the interlocutor (and therefore everyone who will read an interview) into the position of your company in the market and show yourself as a manager with truly strategic thinking.

Questions in advance and taboo topics

Not all reporters are ready for it, but asking for it always pays. By receiving the questions in advance, you can prepare yourself much more effectively for answering them and relieve the unnecessary stress of unexpected questions. If there are topics that you are absolutely not ready to talk about (personal life, scandalous situations, unsuccessful deals, etc.), discuss this in advance. And you’d better do it in writing.

In person or in Zoom

The interview can take place both in person and remotely. In any case, it is important to take care of your appearance (face-to-face interviews are sometimes accompanied by photographing, and do not even ask about, if this is an interview for a TV project). But even if you communicate online, the impression you make with your appearance costs a bundle.

Marina Kochemasova
CEO PR Formula
PR for foreign brands in Russia

Другой разговор! Как подготовиться к интервью в СМИ

Другой разговор! Как подготовиться к интервью в СМИ

Ваше PR агентство договорилось об интервью в крупном издании. Как к нему подготовиться, чтобы общение с журналистом получилось приятным и эффективным, а  публикация не разочаровала?

Сбор информации

Важно заранее изучить информацию о журналисте: на какие темы он пишет, в каком формате работает. Это поможет не только расположить к себе собеседника, начав разговор с упоминания о прочитанных вами статьях этого автора, но и получить представление о том, что вас ожидает во время интервью.

Ключевые сообщения

Определитесь с вашим PR-менеджером, какие ключевые сообщения вы хотите донести. Интервью будет читать аудитория издания, и вы должны четко понимать, в каком свете хотите для нее предстать, какое впечатление оставить. Одним интервью вы можете решить несколько бизнес-задач, если сумеете грамотно донести нужную информацию. Например, если компания ведет активный набор персонала не забудьте упомянуть о хороших условиях труда, программах стимулирования и соцпакете. Если ищет новых партнеров – об эффективности бизнес-процессов, полученных результатах и успешном сотрудничестве с другими компаниями.

Цифры и факты

Это то, что в первую очередь интересует вашего собеседника. Сколько сотрудников у вас работает? Сколько филиалов вы уже открыли? Какой была чистая прибыль за прошлый год? Будьте готовы раскрыть какую-то информацию. Лучше – заранее подготовить и выдать журналисту справку с важными цифрами и фактами о компании в распечатанном виде.

Актуальная повестка

Давая комментарий на поставленный вопрос, умейте ссылаться на актуальную бизнес – повестку и экономическую ситуацию в стране и в мире. Тем самым вы расширите представление собеседника (а значит и всех, кто прочтет интервью) о положении вашей компании на рынке и покажете себя как менеджера с действительно стратегическим мышлением.

Вопросы-заранее и запретные темы

Не все журналисты на это идут, но спросить никогда не лишне. Получив вопросы, вы сможете намного эффективнее подготовиться к ответам на них и избавитесь от лишнего стресса неожиданных вопросов. Если у вас есть темы, на которые вы категорически не готовы общаться (личная жизнь, скандальные ситуации, неудачные сделки и т.п.), обговорите это заранее. Лучше – в письменном виде.

Очно или по зуму

Интервью может проходить как очно, так и дистанционно. В любом случае важно позаботиться о своем внешнем виде (очные интервью иногда сопровождаются фотографированием, что уж говорить, если это интервью для телепроекта). Но даже если вы общаетесь онлайн, впечатление, которое вы произведете своим внешним видом, стоит дорого.

Марина Кочемасова
CEO PR Formula
продвижение иностранных брендов в России